aschlobohm

Just another WordPress.com site

Response to Independent Reading – 3/22 March 22, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — Andrea Schlobohm @ 4:15 am

What I consider to be one of the most beneficial things I learned while studying independent reading is what my role is as a teacher. Gambrell stated that the new SSR format requires teachers to transition from their traditional passive role in this setting to an active role in which they engage their students during the silent reading time (as cited in Moss & Young, 2010, p.19). What I had been taught in my undergraduate courses was the importance of modeling my own reading during SSR time. According to what I was previously taught, by seeing me enjoy reading my students would be inspired to enjoy reading themselves. This model of independent reading made it difficult for me to validate devoting too much of my students’ time to independent reading. Sure they would be reading, but an administrator walking in wasn’t usually pleased to see a teacher sitting around reading a new novel. While I knew amount of reading was important in developing my students’ comprehension and vocabulary, the lack of structure during SSR time made me question the amount of learning that was truly going on during that time of the day. While Applegate and Applegate’s study showed that teachers’ reading habits truly do have an effect on their students’ motivation to read, I think I’ve discovered a more powerful way to share my passion for reading and inspire positive reading experiences for my students than just allowing them to watch me read. I know more how to properly conference with my students to ensure they’re learning while reading.

I truly hope that as I enter the classroom again I will be able to implement some form of the independent reading program proposed by Moss and Young (2010). What I appreciate most about this program, with 60 minutes of independent reading interspersed with teacher-student conferences, is that it allows true differentiation to occur. The level of book the student is reading can be differentiated as can the expected amount of reading and the topic of discussion during the conference. This openness to differentiation allows me to make sure each student is getting the support he or she needs. In addition, the focus lessons at the beginning of the 60 minute independent reading block create a time for me to instruct and direct the students on topics or issues that are of relevance to the whole class.  Students would be able to use the information presented in those focus lessons as needed during their own independent reading.

In addition to the 60-minute independent reading block, I like the idea of the 20-minute community reading time suggested by Moss and Young (2010). This time of book talks and interactive read-alouds creates the opportunity for the teacher to explicitly share his or her own love for reading and books. Students also get the chance to communicate their feelings towards certain books and learn about new books they may want to read in the future. Dr. Frye stated in her PowerPoint that one of the stumbling blocks of the traditional SSR program was that students get stuck in the same genre or series. The community reading time give exposure to new series and genres that students may have not previously considered, hopefully breaking them out of their reading rut.

In previous classrooms I had used the required basal texts for my whole class literacy lessons and novel sets of varying levels to work with small groups on independent/guided reading. As previously mentioned, I hope to implement Moss and Young’s (2010) plan in my future classrooms. In addition, I plan on changing how I build my classroom library. In the past I purchased the typical popular series like Junie B. Jones, Magic Tree House, and Cam Jansen, and my students definitely loved them. My goal at the time was simply to have enough books for each student to be reading something at their level. After reviewing all of the websites suggested by Moss and Young (2010) and Dr. Frye, I think I will approach future classroom library growth with a little more consideration for the quality of books being purchased and read. I’ve always known to look out for the Newbery and Caldecott Award winners, but beyond that I didn’t have many resources for book recommendations besides my fellow teachers. Out of all the resources we examined, I found www.reading.org to be the most beneficial for fictional books. The teachers’ choice list showed me which books were considered to be quality literature by other teachers. The children’s choice list gave me insight into what books my students may be the most interested in. As for content-area non-fiction books, I enjoyed www.socialstudies.org and www.nsta.org. Obviously not all books on these lists would be relevant or readable for my individual students, but I can pick and choose as needed. What I liked about the lists compiled on these sites was the fact that professional teachers had reviewed and selected them. This allowed me to better trust the judgment behind the list compilation.

All of the articles and literature we’ve read about independent reading have given me a lot to think about in terms of my future teaching and classroom. I believe that by implementing this program I will be better able to meet my students’ individual needs and motivate them to choose to read more.

 

5 Responses to “Response to Independent Reading – 3/22”

  1. durhamsl Says:

    Andrea,

    I was also glad to learn more about my role as an educator during independent reading. I agree that making sure time is spent conferencing with students during this time is key. I truly enjoy conferencing with my students during this time. My students love having the one on one time with me and I love getting a better understanding of where their understanding and misconceptions lie. I also use this time to make suggestions about new genres and encourage students to try something new. I like your idea of using the websites we have reviewed to build your future classroom library. Taking book suggestions from lists that were compiled by professional educators is a great idea especially when purchasing books that you haven’t read yet.

    -Stacy Durham

    • Andrea,

      I agree with Stacy and yourself. I’ve always felt overwhelmed during a conference time, thinking about how to keep all of the students engaged, how to manage time with each, what questions to ask and what direction to take my conferences. I think that Moss and Young do a great job suggesting ideas of how to make the most of conference time, and how to continue independent reading so that student get the most out of their reading period.

      I also agree with your mention of community reading. I think that too often kids think that reading is only and individual concept. In fact, as we have all discussed throughout this semester, response to reading is important. It is even more important when you can have conversations with others who carry on the same reading.

      Renee Hennings 3/24/12

  2. Andrea-

    If you choose to use this reading plan with 60 minutes of independent reading with student/teacher conferences, you will notice a huge growth as you are able to differentiate like you said. This is something that I have been doing for two years now, and I have really enjoyed being able to differentiate for each individual student. I also enjoy my conferences with my students and hearing what they have to say about what they are learning. Sometimes I wonder how I even knew what my kids were learning. I mean, I had test data and just based off of observations, but I have learned that one on one conferences is the way to go. I can listen to them read, ask them questions, and even have them ask me questions. I think you are on the right track, and wish you luck!

    I agree with you on an administrator walking in and just seeing everyone reading independently, but if you make it clear from the start with what you are doing, you have the data and research to prove your theory. I always make sure that when independent reading is going on that I have a conference schedule up on the board. This way each kid knows when they see me, and if someone comes in to observe me, they know that I am conferencing with students. I will write down for example 5 student names with the times I meet with them, one after the other, then I will put down teacher models, then I will put down 5 other names with times. It is so important that the teacher reads some during this time so you can model for students what good independent reading looks like. My principal likes this theory and likes that I have the whole schedule on the board. This way he knows that there is a “plan” to my independent reading and that I am not just enjoying a book and letting my kids just read for an hour. My kids love the schedule and take ownership to their conference times.

    Amanda


Leave a comment